Kindness that breathes…

In the world of ‘Senior Activities’, it is amazing the things one can learn! For example: Did you know that next week is National ‘Jello Week’? That’s right, bring forth the jigglers—we will be feasting on fruited jello molds and aspic.

Isn’t it funny how when something has a designated time or place we have so much more motivation to do it? On National Day of Prayer, we all gather to pray, but what about the rest of the week? During Independence Day, we celebrate our freedom, but do we truly live in freedom? It is easy to be thankful on Thanksgiving, but do our lives reflect gratitude?

I say all of this because I caught myself red-handed! Most of you probably don’t know this, but February 15th-21st is ‘Random Acts of Kindness Week’. I read about it, as I was planning activities this month for my oldies. The strange thing is, I remember telling myself, “Don’t forget to be randomly kind after Valentines Day!” I even thought about planning out ways to be ‘randomly’ kind. The audacity of myself! Now, you might be thinking how pathetic I am, but I wanted my utter honesty to be a reminder of hope. We don’t have to be randomly kind one week out of the year. We can live a lifestyle of kindness. We can say I love you more often. We can buy someone’s groceries instead of watching them fish for change in their wallet. We can give up the parking space that is closest to the store. We can donate our clothes to someone who might desperately need them. We can scan our pantry for excess food that we really don’t need. We can hurry less. We can pray more. We can live a life of true kindness.

I dont’ want to wait for the holiday to be more of something I can be right now.

Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness: kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile.”

~Mother Teresa

Kindness is a language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.”

~Mark Twain

Published in: on February 4, 2010 at 7:34 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ashadawn.wordpress.com/2010/02/04/kindness-that-breathes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So true my darling. We need to have a lifestyle of kindness, prayer, (fill in the blank), not just one week out of the year.

  2. mmmmm…. yes, indeed.

  3. Good reminder. Thanks.

  4. Oh boo! I love your way with words! Keep writing and I will, as always, keep reading 🙂 Love you

  5. So pleased your dad came to the store and gave me your blog address. Wonderful writing. 🙂 You have taken me away to wonderful places with your words. Thank you and I love you!!


Leave a Reply

