Winter Blues…or Yellows?

Something about this time of year sends me in a spin. I find myself singing Christmas songs for no apparent reason and longing for Spring at the same time. Basically my husband goes crazy. I think it is because I am uncomfortable with the long gray days of January. Part of me craves the joyfulness of Christmas, and the other part just wants to rush ahead into warmer days. Instead, I settle for gray clouds and flowers. I have had this obsession with daffodils this week. Maybe it is because they are such ‘cheery’ little flowers. They always seems to smile back at me, when I look their way. I have a bouquet of them sitting on my kitchen counter right now. I read this poem to my oldies all the time, I believe that for a moment when they hear it, something about its beauty draws them out of their long, cold, winter.



  
The Daffodils



I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced, but they
Out-did the sparkling leaves in glee;
A poet could not be but gay,
In such a jocund company!
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils. 

William Wordsworth 

Maybe today just for now, I will let my heart dance with the daffodils too.
Published in: on January 27, 2010 at 4:24 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ashadawn.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/winter-blues-or-yellows/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We just need to make some winter/spring transitional songs for you to sing!

  2. You are awesome in your love, joy and compassion…where did you learn to write so well? Wasn’t homeschool! Keep up the phenomenal dialog on this blog!


Leave a Reply

